Glass · Cutting
Glass cutting optimization software: what the free and paid options do
A glass shop needs three things from cutting software: guillotine cuts the table can actually make, its own offcuts used before a new sheet, and a plan and labels for the cutting table. Here is what the main options publish about those three, and what they cost, as their own websites said on 3 November 2026. Prices change: check each site before deciding.
The options side by side
| Software | Price as published | For glass? | Offcuts first | Where it runs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SyntaxFlow glass cutting optimiser | Free; Pro €29 once or €3.99 a month | Yes: guillotine three-stage cuts, edge trim, breakout | Yes, matched by glass type, only when it saves a sheet | Browser, nothing uploaded | syntaxflow.io/glass/cutting-optimiser |
| optiCutter | Free plan (5 stocks, 20 sizes, 500 parts); Standard €9 a month; Professional €19 a month | General sheet cutting | Not stated | Browser | opticutter.com |
| CutList Optimizer | 3-day licence 4.90 | General sheet cutting (woodworking) | Not stated | Browser | cutlistoptimizer.com |
| MaxCut | Community edition free; Business $20 a month per team | General (woodworking) | Not stated | Windows only | maxcutsoftware.com/pricing |
| Smart Glazier | $150, $230 or $250 a month; cutting-table export is a paid add-on | Glass shops | Not stated | Cloud suite | smartglazier.com/en/pricing |
| A+W iCut | Price not published | Glass (industrial) | Yes (offcut management) | Desktop, industrial | a-w.com |
| Cyncly FeneVision Opti | Price not published | Large window and glass manufacturers | Not stated | Industrial | cyncly.com |
Read on each company's own website on 3 November 2026. «Not stated» means the site does not say it, not that the product cannot do it. Prices are as published, in the currency each site uses, and may change.
When a free tool is enough
If you cut a few jobs a week from standard sheets, a browser optimiser that makes guillotine cuts and prints the plan does the job. Check that it handles edge trim and breakout, because a nest that ignores them does not fit on the table.
When the rack matters
A glass shop already owns glass: the offcuts against the wall. Only some tools use them before a new sheet, and fewer match the glass type, so a 6 mm clear offcut is not offered for a 4 mm low-e order.
When to look at a suite
If you need the optimiser tied to orders, invoicing and the cutting table's machine format, the industrial suites (A+W, Cyncly, Smart Glazier) do that, at a price set by quote or by monthly plan.
The SyntaxFlow optimiser is free to use with no sign-up: run your own job and compare the sheets, the yield and what the scrap costs.
Questions people ask
- What is the best free glass cutting software?
- For guillotine cuts with edge trim and breakout in the browser, the SyntaxFlow optimiser is free with no sign-up; optiCutter has a free plan limited to 5 stocks and 20 sizes; MaxCut has a free community edition for Windows.
- Does glass cutting software use offcuts?
- Some do: SyntaxFlow uses your own offcuts first, matched by glass type, and A+W iCut publishes offcut management. Most general cutting optimizers do not say so on their sites.
- How much does glass cutting software cost?
- From free (SyntaxFlow, optiCutter's free plan, MaxCut community) to monthly plans of €9 to €19 (optiCutter) or $150 to $250 (Smart Glazier); industrial suites such as A+W and Cyncly are priced by quote.